Daily Toolbox – for Educators or anyone

toolbox1

I read a recent post by Claire Thompson called “Tools and Sites I Use – One Year Later“.  I really like what she did – last January, she blogged about the tools that she used regularly, and now she’s gone back and reviewed and updated that list.  Sounds like a fun way to reflect.

Here’s my list of tools/sites that I use just about every day:

  • twitter – probably my favorite tool now, the center of my PLN (personal learning network)
  • gmail – one personal account and one work account
  • Facebook – keep in touch with old friends and former students
  • Netvibes – my RSS reader, how I keep up with my favorite blogs (or try to, at least)
  • Firefox – just curious if I’ll still be using it next year, or a different browser like Chrome
  • WordPress – where I house this blog, and read many others
  • Lighthouse – more for my company; great, free application that enables teamwork and good project management
  • Yammer – microblogging, within an organization – basically there are about 8 of us at Inigral, Inc. that keep up with each other this way.
  • diigo – social bookmarking site where I keep my favorites and love following the daily links that I get via e-mail, through the Classroom 2.0 group.
  • Jing – slick image/video capture and sharing tool
  • Youtube – I end up watching something on here every day.  Will it hold its own against the competition this year?
  • Microsoft Office – (threw this one on here to see if I’m still using Word and Excel next year….I’m actually rooting for Google Docs!)

Tools I hope to use more:

  • Classroom 2.0 – an outstanding Ning with great discussions and many interesting educators to connect with
  • LinkdIn – professional networking site – you can find very unique skill sets here
  • Evernote – keeps track of life, in general, with to-do lists, pictures, voice notes, and more
  • Backtype – how I keep track of commenting on blogs – need to figure out how to tap into its full potential
  • Younoodle – a startup networking site
  • Flickr – I hope to start posting more pics
  • Any iPhone app, period – hope to get one soon!

Now….hopefully I’ll remember this next January🙂

What do you use that’s not on my list?

5 Comments

Filed under Apps, Technology, Web 2.0

5 responses to “Daily Toolbox – for Educators or anyone

  1. It’s interesting to check out someone else’s list. I’m curious about Backtype. Is it like CoComment? I’m trying to find a better way to follow conversations on blogs. I’ve used co.mments, but it is shutting down in a week. I also use CoComment, but it is a bit glitchy and sometimes takes months to notify my of additional comments on the conversations I’m following. There’s got to be a better way!

  2. Thanks for the mention, Kate. If you ever have any questions about using BackType or any feature requests, let me know.

    @Claire: If you’re interested in following comments, BackType allows you follow by:

    1. Author
    2. Keywords
    3. Post

    It sounds to me like you’d be most interested in #3 using BackType Subscriptions — whenever someone comments on a post you’re subscribed to, we’ll notify you by e-mail.

    Let me know what you think, and thanks for your comment.

  3. Kate Klingensmith

    Claire – I’m wondering if I’ll have 25 or so on my list next year, like you did, starting from these 12🙂

    I’ve never used CoComment or co.comment. In fact, I’d never heard of them until this week – I may be on a mission to find every comment aggregator out there now, just for the sake of comparison.

    Christopher – I’m liking Backtype so far, but I’m especially impressed with the amount of support you guys give your users. One of you was DMing me on Twitter after you ‘overheard’ a comment that I made about Backtype. It’s nice to know that you’re so available to help!

  4. @Kate I never would have guessed that after a year I’d be using so many more tools! I used to be very wary to sign up with yet another website, but I’m not as concerned now.

    @Christopher, thanks for the info regarding Backtype. Yes it is the 3rd option I’m most interested in. I’ll have to give it a try🙂

  5. Hi Kate
    Hadn’t come across http://lighthouseapp.com/ but it certainly looks useful. Am going to try it out! Thanks for the link.
    Patricia

Leave a Reply

