Edublogosphere – commenting, sponsored by Backtype.

I’m not going to turn this into a cheesy ‘new year’s resolution’ post, but here are two easy things that I plan to do in 2009 to be productive and helpful.  Being a teacher, you learn the importance of setting goals, but they’re pretty worthless unless they’re  measurable.  Thank goodness both of these have easy ways to keep track of them:

1.  Comment on others’ blogs more – at least an average of 3 comments per day.  I’m sure many of us would like to do this.  It’s nice to read a quick entry,  get something great out of it, , something that maybe even sparks a new idea for you….but then it’s so easy to move forward without taking  the 2 minutes to leave the author a comment.

  • Luckily, I discovered BACKTYPE!! This is an awesome tool that finds and organizes your comments.  Really, the best part for me is just having the links back to the conversations I want to be apart of.  But – it also organizes your commenting activity in one place.

2.  Donate blood regularly.  I believe you can do this every 2 months, but I’m shooting for 3 times this year.  www.givelife.org or, in Houston – www.giveblood.org.  Both let you create an account to track your donations.

I wish you and your loved ones a great start to 2009!!

4 Comments

Filed under Technology, Web 2.0

4 responses to “Edublogosphere – commenting, sponsored by Backtype.

  1. Happy new year!

    Donating blood is a great health preventer especially for men and heart disease. I really should start donating blood. My husband does it regularly.

    I think there is also a central blood bank in every city as well.

    Good luck to fulfilling your goals.

    Dorit Sasson
    The New Teacher Resource Center
    “Helping You Become a Confident and Successful Teacher”
    http://www.newteacherresourcecenter.com

  2. Kate Klingensmith

    Thanks, Dorit! I had never even heard that it might be good for the donator – even more reason to do it!
    Happy New Year to you, too!

  3. You’re two resolutions sound good. Thanks for sharing backtype. I’ve been looking for something that is very similar. Thanks for the follow on twitter as well. Best of luck in the new year.

  4. Cynthia

    dude the kid in the picture looks familiar, ( top right )

Leave a Reply

